Go / Territory games One of the oldest board games known, Go originated in China as early as 2000 B.C., according to some sources. The goal is to control territory on the board by placing stones. Our rules provide only a brief introduction to help the beginner get started. We have regular Go (GX) played on a 19x19 size board, and the easier 9x9 (G9) and 13x13 (G3) versions. Also in this section are territory games like Amazons (AZ) and Tanbo (GT).
The object of Tanbo is eliminate all of your opponent's pieces from the board.
Since it is possible to make a move which removes your own pieces from the
board, the way to do this is to "capture" territory in such a way
that your opponent runs out of spots to place pieces.
Tanbo is played on a 19x19 board.
The board above shows the starting position.
Each player starts 8 pieces distributed evenly throughout the board.
Playing the game:
Players take turns adding their own stones to the board, one stone per turn, starting with Black.
Stones are placed on the intersections of lines, like in the game Go.
You may only place a stone which is horizontally or vertically adjacent to one
of your own stones already on the board (no diagonals). In addition, a stone
can only be adjacent to ("touch") EXACTLY ONE of your OWN stones (horizontally or vertically).
A square that would touch 2 or more of your own stones is not legal. However,
you may touch ANY NUMBER of ENEMY stones.
The red dots on the board above shows all of White's legal moves. Points that
do not have a red dot on them are not legal moves for White.
As long as there are stones of both colors on the board, there will be a move available.
Players are not allowed to pass on their turn.
Tanbo is a game of "roots" which is a group of connected stones of the same color.
Players start the game with 8 roots of 1 stone each.
Which you make a legal move, you are expanding one of your roots.
Because new stones can only connect to exactly one stone on the board,
roots cannot form clumps or closed loops. And separate roots cannot be merged.
A root that has no more legal moves available is called a "bounded root".
When a root is "bounded", it is removed from the board. When you
make a move that results in one or more roots being
"bounded", they are removed from the board
(note: this may include your own root(s) if they are bounded by the current move).
HOWEVER, if you make a move that results in the current root being "bounded"
(the root that you're trying to expand with this move), then the current root is removed first.
Since this will result in the surrounding roots having legal moves after your
root is removed, whenever the current root is removed, the surrounding roots are not removed
(even if they were bounded before the current root was removed).
Root capture examples:
The following examples should clarify the section above.
It's not as hard as it sounds. These examples are shown on a 5x5 board,
but the same principles would apply to the full-sized 19x19 board.
The first example shows the removal of the current root.
The picture on the left shows the move about to be made. If White places a stone
on the spot circled in red, the White root that's extended is "bounded",
meaning that it has no legal moves remaining.
(Remember that for a move to be legal, it can only "touch" exactly 1 of your own stones.)
Since White's current root is "bounded", the stones in the current White root are removed
from the board, as shown by the red dots on the left graphic and the blue squares in the right-hand graphic.
Note that, even though 2 other roots are bounded when White's stone is placed in the red circle,
when the current root is removed first (since it has no legal moves available),
the other previously bounded roots remain on the board because they are no longer bounded.
The second example shows the removal of more than 1 non-current root.
The picture on the left shows White about to move onto the spot inside the red circle.
The red dots show the pieces that will be captured after White has moved.
Since the current White root is not bounded (White's current root has one more
legal move), any other bounded roots are removed from the board. In this case,
a Black root and a White root are both bounded, and so they are both removed
from the board.